Lance Cummings

May 18, 2023

This Newsletter Will Self-Destruct in 3 ... 2 ... 1 πŸ’£ πŸ”₯

At the beginning of this semester, I committed to writing one newsletter a week reflecting on my AI & Digital Storytelling. And yes, I made it!

I really appreciate you sticking around and reading my work.

I will be continuing my explorations on Substack, focusing on how rhetoric can enhance prompt engineering, as well as how cultures affect our attitudes towards AI ... two of my current projects this summer.

I will be transferring this subscription list to Substack. If you are sticking around, you do not need to do anything. If you do not want to be included, simply unsubscribe. I'm not hoarding email addresses. πŸ˜†

I also will be building a library of materials, courses, and a community space in my iSophist community.

I believe the future of education (and the creator economy) is community-centered ... especially with the rise of AI. My goal has always been to build a community around my content ... and that work still continues. I'm impressed by how Substack is envisioning this idea.

You might be wondering why I've tried so many platforms and community ideas during the course of this writing stint.Β 

If not, you can stop reading here and go about your day. If so, continue!

***

My primary focus has always been on researching ethos in the creator economy. AI really was just a side project and a test case for my explorations into this topic. With the rise of ChatGPT, I had to go all in on the topic!

That's mostly been a success, but ... phew! ... is there a lot of AI content (dare I say hype) out there. A focus of mine this semester has been to find my niche in that onslaught of content. AI and writing used to be my niche ... and now it's turned into it's own crowded lane!

That said, what I'm really passionate about is supporting educators who are venturing into the world of online content creation. I believe that educators have a tremendous opportunity to provide value to diverse audiences, while also getting compensated for the content they develop (usually without reward at their institutions).

➑️ Read more about this here.

That's why I've created a space on Medium to help "EduCreators" get started.

So really, the whole AI thing has been a test case, and I will certainly be continuing that exploration in my Substack ... as well as in my course and community on iSophist. But my bigger goal is to help define what it means to be a "good creator, creating well" and help educators adopt this role in the creator economy.

So most of my stuff will be delivered for free on Substack (and Medium) ... and I'm always willing to give someone free access to any paid content. All I ask in return is your honest feedback and insights as a "user tester" to help me improve and grow.

So you will continue to see me promoting my course and community and working with creators on Medium.

But really, I'm just happy to have you with me on Substack, and I wanted to let you know how this fits into my broader explorations, just in case you are interested.

At some point, I will be writing about rhetoric and the creator economy! ... but now that can't be done without addressing AI.

It all comes together in the end.
---
πŸ€– iSophist.com |Β  πŸ”— Linkedin Profile | πŸ”— Medium Page | πŸ”— Twitter

About Lance Cummings

This newsletter has moved to iSophist on Substack.

In Spring 2023, I'll be exploring the creative side of Ai writing technologies with 30 university students in a class about Ai and Digital Storytelling. Subscribe here for weekly reflections and updates on using Ai in the writing classroom.

iSophistry is theΒ  right use of ancient and new technologies to create new ways of thinking, so that you can make yourself Ai-proof in any field.