Lewis Buckley

October 7, 2022

Everything is Temporary

The code I write is going to be legacy code in 5 years time. In 10 years time it’s unlikely to still exist. And if it does, in 20 years it probably won’t be runnable on computers of that day.

One day I won’t work at 37signals. I hope that I will for a while yet of course, but one day I won’t.

One day I won’t be here. I’m temporary.

So everything is temporary but what can be less temporary?

The friends I make. The memories I make. The impact on others I make. Those things can stick around for much longer - a lifetime.

Our work is important in that regard because it’s where we can often make the biggest impact.

But remembering that everything is temporary is freeing. It helps us focus on what’s truly important. It provides a counterweight to the pressure we put upon ourselves, by helping us always keep a sight on the big picture - the less temporary.

Change is the only constant. Everything changes all the time. People change, companies change, our world changes.

The beauty of that change is that no matter how bad our current situation is, it will change.

And if our situation is particularly good, we should take care to enjoy it. To live in the moment. To take it all in. Because

This too shall pass
- Anon.




About Lewis Buckley

Programmer at 37signals, living in Devon 🇬🇧