Lindsey Clark

July 26, 2024

Follow the Brand

I’ve been thinking a lot about leadership lately. What is really means to be a good and effective leader. ChatGPT gave me a laundry list of leadership skills (problem solving, conflict resolution, team building, etc.). But really, what makes a good and effective leader? 

My unhealthy obsession with Scott Galloway continued on an early morning flight today while I was catching up on podcasts. During the ‘wins and fails’ conclusion of Pivot last week, Scott talked about his class on brand strategy and provided three cases studies in people who had exceptional brands, using them as examples of professional and personal life success:

  1. Muhammad Ali
  2. Margaret Thatcher
  3. Richard Simmons

Scott then reviewed the characteristics of these individuals that made them great at their brand. 

  1. Demonstrated excellence at their craft/product. 
  2. Strong visual metaphors and storytelling. Hairstyle and pantsuits of Thatcher, one-liners of Ali. Short shorts and sparkly tank of Simmons.
  3. Deep amount of consistent comfort with themselves and their decisions. Richard Simmons is down with Richard Simmons!
  4. Empathy and ability to connect. Simmons had an innate ability to connect with people through shared experiences. 

Then I thought: these are leaders. 

As I enter solidly into a mid-career professional, I’m reflecting on the best leaders I’ve had and wanted to emulate and what made them a great leader. A common attribute has always come to mind: they were all likable. It feels kinda dirty to say that, particularly when women leaders are often criticized as being too likable, too much of a people pleaser (smile more anyone?). But I think it transcends likability in the general sense. I think a good leader is confident in a humble way, can connect with people in a way that’s very quick yet extraordinarily deep and meaningful. They are people who have felt lessor in some sense, have shared difficult life experiences that they openly communicate in a vulnerable way, but have emerged from those experiences with a brand and a confidence that clearly says, “you can do this too.” Approachable charisma comes to mind. 

I feel as if I’m hitting on a very intangible yet critical part of leadership-brand. I was with several leaders this week, and after meeting one high level executive, as she shook my hand to say goodbye, she clasped her other hand over mine. It feels strange to say that’s one of the things I remember about work this week, but it was a gesture of warmth that impacted me just as much as the business strategic bullet points I scribbled in my notebook. 

Follow the leader. I mean, brand.