Luke Andrews

April 22, 2022

What are you watching?

That seems to be the only question anyone is asking these days. Once you get the weather and all the other customary pleasantries out of the way, it's straight to what shows are you watching?

The question itself is somewhat funny because it's ((no joke as I am typing this I just heard someone at the coffee shop below my window ask their friend for some show recommendations because they just finished a series)) blah.

Okay, so the question itself is funny because it’s so boring. Asking someone what they are watching is the same as asking: what you like to sit down and stare at while you do nothing else.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some great shows out now, but there always will be. The question is loaded because it tells you so much about the person based on which streaming services they subscribe to. It appears to me that everyone has Amazon and that slowly people are ditching Netflix. My dental hygienist is really into Hulu, and my brother-in-law likes Paramount+. Only a few people I talk to have AppleTV (my personal favorite) and even fewer it seems use HBO Max. I keep Peacock and ESPN+ around because of the Premier League.

I do miss turning on the TV with a real button #CLICK# but I don’t even have a TV. As a matter of fact, I have never owned a TV personally, now that I think about it. Even as a Baseball and English Football fan, the bar down the street usually puts my games on, though all the tips I leave just go to pay for the bartenders streaming services at home…and then we talk about what shows they are watching at home while we watch sports at the bar…

People actually pull their phones out or flip over a napkin to jot down show recommendations. “What was that show you were talking about?” Nobody ever writes anything down that I talk about until it comes to television.

Better questions:
  • What’s the last painting you saw?
  • Have you watered your plants lately?
  • What was the last chapter you read?
  • Pet any cool dogs recently?