Andrew Mackross

March 24, 2024

Phew, the Inktrail SLC made it out before my baby!

That’s right the SLC popped out first! Hoo-fucking-ray 🍾

I enjoy programming, but this was a slog and I was dreading the possibility of the new baby arriving first and having this hang over my head.

So, with the SLC finished and early customers onboard, I can shift my focus to cracking distribution, which unlike programming I think I might be able to do in the sleep deprived months that await 🫣😭

So what exactly am I trying to get out there — What is Inktrail?

Inktrail is anti-plagiarism software for schools and universities. But, unlike its competitors, it works reliably with LLMs (and runs for a fraction of the infrastructure cost). 

It lets teachers once again trust that their students did the work. Even online or at home with full access to ChatGPT. It’s different to all existing AI detection systems, as it works in real time. This makes it far more accurate and means that it can intervene and correct rather than catching and punishing students.

This is great for students, but more  importantly (for creating a business) I t’s great for university bottom lines.

I talk a bit more about this in a future post, but suffice it to say. Today, universities are mostly letting kids cheat and get away with it, because the cost of losing a student and the effort involved are higher  than the long term credibility hit. 😔

It’s kind of funny (and sad) that LLMs will probably revolutionize education, but right now they’re mostly ruining it.  

So, I’ve got my work cut out for me! I need to figure out what to say, how to get heard, and who might amplify the message. Got an idea? I would love to hear from you. 







About Andrew Mackross

Co-founder of HappyCo and Inktrail. I 🥰 close friends and family, taking things from zero to one, and the unbeaten path.