Thomas Mak

March 21, 2021

Weekly Dispatch: Start running again, and keep reading.

My BMI reached the range of 24.9 to 25.6 in the last month. It is at the upper bound of normal weight and the lower bound of overweight. I told my situation to my friends and they immediately invited me to join their running club. So I bought a pair of running shoes on Monday and had two running sessions on Tuesday and Friday evening. Just fit into my leisure evenings other than the Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday teaching sessions.

IMG_7761.jpeg


Hopefully, I will keep the long term running. Last time, 10 years ago, I only ran once after buying a pair of shoes. This time, I have accompanies. The social pressure may force me to kill the running procrastination.

I also bought several books this week, including two machine learning books, some illustration books, and kid-rasing books. Meanwhile, I’m also enjoying the books from digital public libraries.

IMG_7763 copy.jpg


Links worth sharing

Why software projects take longer than you think: a statistical model

Anyone who built software for a while knows that estimating how long something is going to take is hard. It’s hard to come up with an unbiased estimate of how long something will take, when fundamentally the work in itself is about solving something.

Web Components Are Easier Than You Think

Let’s start with the <template> and create our web components.

Squoosh

An image compressor by Google Chrome Labs.

There is a CLI version too.

A CSS border-radius generator

And the story behind the generator too:
CSS Border-Radius Can Do That?

CleanShot 2021-03-21 at 19.19.12@2x.png


I miss my bar background noise generator

CleanShot 2021-03-21 at 19.14.48@2x.png


—Thomas Mak, 2021-03-21, 
Makzan’s Dispatch 2021 week 12.