Martin Matanovic

October 9, 2023

Letters from Somewhere No. 008

8th week in Jablonec nad Nisou (Czech Republic). 

It's a wonderful feeling to be on the move, whether actually on a road or on the great journey of life. I am happiest when I am on the move. But I feel that less and less.

I don't cope well with being somewhere permanently. This can be a place, an inner state or a thought. To be in motion means to live. Even if it is only a walk or a hike.

We went on a little hike. Although, the word hike doesn't really fit. Basically, we walked from a small, hidden parking lot through a forest up a mountain.

We covered almost 500 meters in altitude, of which the last 50 meters were the hardest. It was good to have moved. It was even very strenuous. But I didn't enjoy it.

That was the only hike. However, I went out almost every day for at least one walk. Even though I detest the city more and more, I still don't want to stay inside all the time.

I wanted to make the most of my time here. However, this is the best I can come up with. A few walks where I am mostly listening to podcast, just so I don't have to deal with the environment.

I'm slipping towards an emotionally unstable state. Poor sleep. Fatigue and deep exhaustion during the day. Even though I would have the time, I can't get any rest.

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.