Martin Matanovic

December 5, 2023

Letters from Somewhere No. 016

Leaving Berlin means leaving the bad feelings and thoughts behind me. That's true for the moment. But I know that I can't escape what's inside me. The damage that has been done and the darkness that comes with it will haunt me for the rest of my life.

So here we are, in a small town in the far northwest of Germany, in Ostfriesland. In a house on a busy road. We fill the rooms with the things we've packed in the car. All for just one week.

I'm tired and exhausted, but somehow also liberated from the darkness that has accompanied me in the desolate streets of the big city. I feel more at home in the small, the manageable and the vast, the deserted.

I am busy all week. Time flies by like the blink of an eye. I do my best to get through it without damage. But I'm not very successful. Bad nights with too little sleep and long days with too much work and planning the next trip, as well as reorganizing our things.

But there is a day of light. All the hustle and bustle disappears on the day we go to the sea. I am surprised by this part of the country. It is clean. It is open. It is orderly. The people are relaxed and friendly. Here it feels like the Germany you imagine.

Then the next weekend comes and we're on the road again. The tires touch the roads of four countries. In total, we are on the road for 24 hours and almost 1800 km through Central Europe. At the end of the journey, we are back in Brittany.

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.