Martin Matanovic

January 9, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No. 021

Côtes-d'Armor (Bretagne, France)

I still want to discover so much, see so much, experience so much and take so much with me, but I have no choice but to surrender to the forces of the world. Wind and rain, sometimes light and then stormy. And that for days.

Days that pass by. Days on which I can do nothing but dream. Days in which I have to endure what I can't change. I have to learn to accept.

And then the sky opens and the sun comes out. The warm light revives my spirit. I wake up as if from a long sleep. And I go outside. One last walk.

The wind whips mercilessly under the blue sky. At one moment, I fear that it will blow us over the cliffs of the narrow strip of land into the open sea. In the distance, I see a man standing on a cliff. Rigid as a rock, one with the elements. I admire him.

It is a fascinating event with a profound beauty. We are at the Pointe du Grouin at the end of a narrow headland near the town of Cancale. Distance: 12 km, duration: 5 h 30 min. The first part of the route goes across fields and past houses, along the coast to the viewpoint. From there along the coast back to the starting point.

This second part is breathtakingly beautiful. The path, the landscape, the view, simply everything is so much more beautiful than anything I've seen so far. Again and again we come to a beach. At a small one in a bay, we are the only people. I take off my shoes and walk barefoot on the cold, damp sand. What a wonderful experience. 

There is something liberating about movement in nature. Not just the movement itself, but the environment and the experience. There is also something calming in the roaring sound of the sea as wave after wave crashes against the barren rocks of the coast. Or the wind that sweeps relentlessly over the island with an impressive force. To experience all this is joy, sometimes ecstasy, but always pure happiness. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.