Martin Matanovic

January 28, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.024

I don't read books anymore. I don't know when I stopped. As is so often the case, it has crept into my life. And before you consciously realize it, it has already become a certainty. I love books, but I don't currently miss reading them. 

It's the same with podcasts. I've listened to one or two, but I haven't finished any of them. Basically, I love this format. Podcasts, and radio in the past, have had a positive effect on me. They have calmed me down in a strangely beautiful way. 

I grew up with radio. My grandparents always had the radio on. It was something that was always there, just like them. Later, when I lived with my parents, the radio was also on, but it was different. The surroundings, the mood and the voices, the melodies, so much was different. Inner worlds change. Experiences change. New patterns emerge that didn't exist before, others wither away. 

We adapt to being different, we change and so do our habits. And somehow the magic was gone. And it stayed that way for a long time. I only found it again years later in podcasts. In a different format than radio and in a different language. It was like coming home. And there it was again, that reassuring feeling.  

And now, completely without it, it's not bad either. I don't miss it. I'm more with myself. I'm writing, thinking about new ideas and programming in every spare moment. I'm where I've wanted to be for over two years. I want to use this momentum and bring something into this world. 

Then there's another side, I try to create more space for quiet, uneventful moments. I then watch the clouds or just sit on the couch and do nothing. This was once a hard task, but now it's something I can do right on the spot. With a cup of coffee in my hand, my body leaning against the wall and just starring into the great wide horizon. Mindlessly, but open. Sometimes I hope to recognize a direction in which it could continue. But I don't force anything and I let myself be surprised by everything. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.