Martin Matanovic

February 4, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.025

Finistère (Bretagne, France)

Four weeks have passed. We are in a new place, in a new region, in new accommodation. It starts all over again. Four weeks is not a long time, but it is enough to get a feel for the rhythm of a region. So we will stay in this rhythm for the next few month.

This is our third stop on this trip, with two more to go. We will soon reach the halfway point. Nevertheless, it is too early to draw any conclusions. But I would like to take a brief look back at the last stop. We did very little last month in Pipriac. We spent most of our time in the accommodation. We only went on two hikes, which are in no way comparable to those in Plouasne.

We visited the small town of La Gacilly twice in total. Once we've been in the small and wonderful atelier of Maud Lelièvre, where she has the most beautiful ceramics I have ever seen. I had to take two white cups with me, I couldn't help myself. One day last week, we went for a walk at the Plage de la Mine d'Or in Pénestin. And another day in the old town of Guérande, where we got the best cakes yet at the chocolatier Christophe Roussel

But all in all, the area didn't offer us what we needed. It was also very damp and so no further hikes were possible. I implemented ideas that I had been putting off for a long time and was therefore able to make good use of the time. But due to all the sitting and lack of exercise, the back pain has returned. 

And I can feel myself slowly getting tired of traveling. I know that this rhythm won't last forever. But I don't know when it will end. And above all, I don't know where and how. All of this together has a negative effect on my mood. I feel this most clearly when we are in transit, i.e. on the days before departure and on the first days in a new environment. 

During this time I have to be very patient with myself and not let my thoughts going the wrong way. It's a phase that I have to get through. I know that, and yet it weighs on me more and more. I would like to get back to the magic of traveling, to the joy of discovery. To a more easy way of living and being. But that has been lost recently. I hope to find it again soon. 

I can see small cracks that have slow down our project forward. Doubt seeps through them. But something is also emerging, a slight feeling of possibility. But it is still very faint and weak. I have to hold it and nurture it so that it gets stronger and can soon exist in the world on its own again. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.