Martin Matanovic

February 18, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.027

Finistère (Bretagne, France)

When something changes from new to familiar, how this changes the way we see things. There is an expansion of the self. Then the lingering becomes the new. 

I often think about what would happen if I had to go back to one of my old lives. The answer is clear and unambiguous, there is no going back to any old life. Someone once said: "Home is gone, even if you return to it." My home was extinguished a long time ago. So where should I return to? 

So I have no choice but to go forward. Only I don't know where that should be. I'm in Brittany, in an area with so much beautiful nature, but also so much desolation. Places whose streets are lined with run-down and abandoned buildings. Or ruins, but not from the Middle Ages, but from the near past. 

Exactly when I am in such a place, it doesn't feel right to be here. This desolation depresses me. And I feel it more than ever, I'm alone here too. I'm just as lonely here. Here I am also just a stranger, and one without a language. 

Almost everyone I know has arrived somewhere or has always been there because they are happy where they come from and therefore stay because they have no reason to go anywhere else. Hardly any of these people understand me or want to understand me. 

I have never arrived anywhere. I never had a chance to arrive somewhere. Something inside me is missing. Something that they couldn't give me because they didn't have it themselves. How was I supposed to arrive with this gap? How am I supposed to use something out of myself that I don't have? 

I come to the one important point, to the question: How do I want to live? Who do I want to be every single day? But also: Which imprints do I want to change, free myself from them, because they are the result of pain that arose a long time ago? And the hardest part, how do I get rid of them? 

This journey is a journey home together. That's what we've always called it. It should be a home of stone and one of inner peace, wherever that may be. Maybe not here, but then it's good to have been here to find out exactly that. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.