Martin Matanovic

April 8, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.034

Ille-et-Vilaine (Bretagne, France)

This is a temporary adventure. It always was. That was clear from the beginning. But how long it would take to come to an end and where exactly this end was and still is, stays unclear. Despite all the rain, Brittany seems to be a good place for us. We have found a lot of peace and quiet here, which is an important criterion.

As we have been on the road for three years now, I feel a tiredness that has settled deep into my bones. Every step is sometimes very tiring. And sometimes the tiredness overwhelms me so much that I even feel depressed. And I can no longer imagine being stuck in one place. Although that is exactly the reason for this whole adventure, to find this place.

I now know two types of exhaustion. One is when I was out in nature, hiking or walking. That's the good one. It makes me feel invigorated, refreshed and happy. Then there's the other one. I realized that this week. It comes when I'm in a city or around lots of people. I am overwhelmed by the offerings on every corner, the noise of the traffic and the sheer volume of people.

I experienced this in Vitré when we were out and about in the old town. Full of euphoria at the beginning because it's really beautiful, but at some point it turns into total exhaustion. This was also the case in Fougéres, whose old town has a great charm, or even in the Église Saint-Léonard with its calmness and openness and simple interior architecture. All of this is beautiful and fascinating up to a point, but at some point the mood turns gloomy for me. In Fougéres, it even becomes depressing.

This may also have been due to the weather, the renewed rain with the gray clouds and the cold wind. We also had that kind of weather at the sea, but it didn't depress me. It's something with the cities, the buildings between which I feel cramped, which seem grayer the grayer the sky becomes. The sea or the forest, on the other hand, have a different effect on me. I now know I am more drawn to nature.

And I want to feel good in my own skin, in the place where I am and in life in general. That is the crucial point. We took a close look at the accommodation we stayed in, as far as we could. We know more and more what we like, especially what we need and what we definitely don't want. This is a good sign.

Another need is for space. And for a garden. Something like what we experienced at the Jardin botanique de Haute-Bretagne, a wonderful botanical garden less than a 10-minute drive from us. In the Japanese garden, with all the variety of plants and trees, the little bridges and statues, I felt a sense of calm that I usually only experienced on lonely walks along the coast. I would like to have that in my home. This would be wonderful. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.