Martin Matanovic

May 27, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.041

Berlin (Germany)

This city is overwhelming. But only until you accept it for what it is. But to get there, it's not enough to keep telling yourself that. It is the words of another person that first point me in this direction and finally open my eyes. But I have to see for myself.

Even if I don't understand why this city attracts all these people from all over the world, I can slowly understand and accept it. They find something in it that they are either consciously looking for or are drawn to by chance or fate. Something that makes them content and even happy.

I go through a metamorphosis in a very short time and move from a deep aversion to a gentle acceptance. And then so much looks different. But it's an arduous journey until then. I run from one appointment to the next. None of them can be canceled or postponed or conflict with another.

Doctor's appointments and office hours. Workshop and errands. And then I meet a few people. And I don't have time for others. This is how one of the shortest weeks I've spent in one place goes by.

Next stop: Prague
Distance: 345 km
Duration: 3 h 30 min

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.