Martin Matanovic

June 22, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.045

Prague (Czech Republic)

So if you have a choice, travel with more time than money. You’ll be richer. - Kevin Kelly

The most beautiful places are parks, some of which we visit. As soon as the weather permits and we have the time and energy, we hit one. The best experiences are the little things, like a walk where we are surprised to see different animals. There's a beaver grazing on the bank or a squirrel munching on nuts by the side of the path. There are two large turtles walking leisurely across a meadow, or a duck by the lake with its little fluffy chicks. 

But there are other experiences that leave a negative impression on me, mostly when we leave a park and dive into the city life. It's draining, the amount of traffic and the noise it makes. The countless crowds we have to fight our way through. There is the constant background noise and the sheer endless amount of information. 

It's a question of energy. Being in nature gives me energy. The city robs me of it. Despite the beautiful corners, it takes more from me than it gives. After every trip I am completely exhausted and mentally drained. When we travel, I long for experiences that I can perceive as rich, meaningful and valuable. I don't find that here. The city overwhelms me. It's too much very quickly. 

I ask myself why I'm still doing this to myself, but I can't find an enriching answer. Probably because they're old patterns that I'm just living out without thinking about it. I'm here, so I should throw myself into it. And I'm looking forward to it. But as soon as it overwhelms me, it's just torture. 

We are now closing this place and this chapter. It looks like we won't be coming back. I think we'll avoid cities as much as possible. We were made for nature. There isn't much of that left, of a purer, more deserted nature. I want to look for it and be in it. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.