Martin Matanovic

June 30, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.046

Jablonec nad Nisou (Czech Republic)

Thunderstorm, then rain. I am surprised to see a thunderstorm in the morning. It follows a hot night, during which a cool breeze kept blowing across my skin. An expected pleasant cooling. Then another through the rain. 

I program until noon. After a nutritious lunch we go for a walk. The air is still warm and thick, hard to breathe. This changes in the forest. A forest has its own climate, a more pleasant one. 

It doesn't take long before it starts to drizzle. We find shelter among the trees and can continue without getting wet. There are many turn-offs that lead us to new and very interesting places with large rock formations jutting out of the ground and moss-covered areas. 

I didn't expect to find this here. And yet it lacks the magic that we have discovered in so many forests in Brittany. One has to be open to magic and maybe I am not here. Still, it is a wonderful experience. In the forest, without people, moving in the fresh air, what could be better? 

Being in an environment I already know makes things easier. Knowing a place, their rooms, the light during the day and the atmosphere. Knowing where to go for groceries, where to go for a walk, and all the little things that you don't recognize when you've been in one place all your life or for a long time. It feels a little bit like coming home, even if it's a false home. 

There is something refreshing about leaving the paths I already know and discovering new ones. Maybe this yearning for the new is so ingrained in me now because we have been on the road for so long. Every place was new. Every time we had to discover even the most basic things. And so I am do it here as well. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.