Martin Matanovic

July 15, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.048

Jablonec nad Nisou (Czech Republic)

We stumble forward and sometimes over the small or large stones of our origins. Falling and getting up again. Wiping the dust and moving on. 

We look back and curse what we see or ignore it with an emotionless shrug. We wish it could have been different. But we can't shake it. 

We look at others and what they have, what they are or seem to be. And are plagued by envy or drown in it. 

Each morning is a beginning. The battles I fought yesterday were ground down in my sleep. In happy nights even completely eaten and digested. 

I don't make many plans each morning. I am free in this phase. There is a purity that is as clear as the fresh air coming in through an open window. 

And yet it doesn't take long for me to fall into old patterns and start doing things the same way every time. Any thought of doing it differently is one with a short half-life. 

A few breaths and most of it is gone. Often it's only fragments that I focus all my attention on, I don't see the big picture that should be my life. 

There is hope in every departure. So innocent and pure and full of expectations that the world often seems so small because it cannot begin to fulfill them. 

The next one is near. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.