Martin Matanovic

August 19, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.053

Wiesmoor (Germany)

The rain follows us. It follows us for months, always with us. But before the rain comes the heat. And it is merciless. The air is so thick and heavy that you could cut it with a knife.

There's no wind, not even a breeze to cool you down "Why don't you go out into nature to clear your head?" Will I succeed?

The week begins and I sink into chaos as if the vacation had never happened. All the relaxation has vanished. Everything, all of life, seems to be a heavy burden again.

Three days in a row with little and very poor sleep. Headaches, then pills. The temperature rises every day, to the point where it becomes unbearable.

Then dark clouds gather. Lightning until it ends in a heavy downpour. A beautiful spectacle. I go to bed early that night and sleep well again.

These are the cool years. But it doesn't get any cooler. These are also the rainy years. We haven't had a real summer for a long time, one with weeks of sunshine. But I can't really judge that anymore, now that we're only on the road.

Perhaps they never existed, but my memory is full of such images and of the light and warmth with which I think back to that time. Time stands still here. And yet it moves on at a breathtaking pace.

The world is a different place. The people are different. The climate is different. And I feel like I'm still the same person.

Originally written in German. Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.