Martin Matanovic

September 22, 2024

Letters from Somewhere No.057/058

September 22, 2024
Wiesmoor (East Frisia, Germany)

Some days I want to scream. On others, I lack the strength to get out of bed. And on a few, light shines through the narrow window. Light in which there is peace, but also hope. It keeps me alive.

One day passes after another. The overall picture is not a positive one. Not a time that I would like to remember with joy. It's a shame that it's like this. We have survived three weeks here. Only one more lies ahead of us.

I'm thinking about death more often again. No one knows how and when their life will end. It will come suddenly. Quickly. I'm sure of that. And that's exactly why I want to fill this time with as many beautiful memories as I can. But I find it incredibly difficult here.

What expectations did I come here with? Were they too high? Is having peace and quiet too much of an expectation?

Originally written in German. Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.