Martin Matanovic

July 10, 2023

The Week No. 004

Week 27, 2023

A week in Plounévez-Moëdec (France). 

I'm running out of coffee. That's kind of an emergency. And why? Because coffee is my lifeblood. Not a single day starts without coffee, and if it does, it's probably going to be a bad day, or if you look at it a little more optimistically, a not-so-good day. Because something essential is missing.

It took me quite a while to find the perfect coffee for me. Years of searching and trial and error. Then I found it. It is the Indien Monsooned Malabar brand from the Speicherstadt coffee roastery in Hamburg. Great online store, excellent coffee. I have been satisfied ever since. 

But I didn't take enough with me on the trip to France. Now it is coming to an end. And I have to settle for an inferior, far too strong and tasteless unfamiliar no name coffee. The experience of drinking coffee becomes a challenge. Sugar helps. It’s not the solution. 

Thoughts

I am not worried about the possible consequences of climate change, we will destroy ourselves with AI. But maybe I'm wrong and climate change is coming faster. I see its effects here every day. Dry forests. Dried up rivers and lakes. The grass is more beige than green. In either case, I'm not very optimistic about human nature and whether we will do the right thing as a collective. 

Hikes and Walkes

We hiked this week only the La Roberdiere et Le Fougeray et Le Grez in Sillé-le-Guillaume - 12 km in 3 hours and 15 minutes. 

About Martin Matanovic

I work, travel and live in different places in Europe and write about it in this newsletter.