Matthew Burns

February 6, 2024

Jetbrains on ChromeOS

Just a quick post here.

I run a Chromebook attached to a couple of monitors of different size and dimensions. This setup works great but I have started to have issues running Jetbrains IDEs in the newer ChromeOS updates. I assume this has something to do with the windowing system and some changes that have been made there recently.

Anyways, I wanted to give RubyMine a try again but I kept getting weird scaling issues and rendering artifacts. After digging in further, I found this KB article: https://intellij-support.jetbrains.com/hc/en-us/articles/360007994999-HiDPI-configuration

TLDR; add the following to your custom VM options:
-Dsun.java2d.uiScale.enabled=false

About Matthew Burns

Software Engineer at Equinix Metal. Server whisperer. Aspiring Quantum Engineer.
3D Movies List