Matthew Marshall

April 17, 2024

Slow Down Life

CleanShot 2024-04-17 at 17.02.06@2x.png


I've found that concisely writing down memories, stories, and quotes shortly after they occur leads to a "slowing down time" effect. I use Apple's built-in notes app to capture each memory in one or two lines max. Short and sweet documentation is key because the higher the barrier the less likely I am to write it down. 

The slowing down effect comes as I occasionally read back on the volume and quality of experiences within my days, weeks, and months. It's full of hard moments, beauty, variety, and celebration. As I look back I can recall with more clarity the details of my memory which can trigger a visualization allowing me to relive the experience. I hope to keep documenting my day-to-day moments to slow life down.

Record, reflect, relive.

About Matthew Marshall

Co-founder & CBO of New Story, a social impact org pioneering solutions to end the global housing crisis by empowering families to become land and homeowners in thriving communities.