Ben Wilson

February 9, 2022

Real Value of Compliance

I served in the Army for 9 years, joining during the First Gulf War and leaving a bit before the second. I loved my job because success required I learn about everything and become an expert on random topics. It's a career trait that persists 22 years later. When I think of organizational regulatory compliance, my experience has been that compliance serves a purpose and working with that compliance is easier and less expensive than bypassing it.

One job that was particularly rewarding was Unit Armorer. In a nutshell, I cared for over a hundred automatic rifles, machineguns and pistols. My job was to manage the maintenance, cleanliness and administriva for the weapons. They even sent me to Armorer school, where I was indoctrinated in the Army regulations that protected both the weapons and myself. The penalty of failing my job could range from loss of life to an extended, unplanned visit to Leavenworth.

A perennial problem my unit experienced was frequent misfires at the range. I concluded the root cause was lack of cleaning. Army regulation required weapons be cleaned to inspection-ready before being returned to the Arms Room. Our unit's practice was to turn them in, then "three-cleanings" later that rarely happened. This led to short-recoil, which kept the rifles from cycling with enough force to reload. This led to "alibi" fires that stretched the time spent at the range by a couple hours.

My first range as armorer started at 0400 to issue weapons by 0600. It was a night range, so we got back around 2300. While my sibling company armorers were receiving weapons, I issued cleaning kits. Soldiers and NCOs complained. One NCO called the company commander at home to have her order me to receive the weapons.

"It's late, would you please receive the weapons?"

"Ma'am, Army regulation states that nobody in the battalion (our parent unit) may depart garrison until all weapons are accounted for in the Armory. Only the Armorer who issued the weapons has authority to receive them. No weapon may be returned to the Arms Room until cleaned to the Armorer's specifications. We have a cleanliness issue, and it will be addressed now. You can relieve me tomorrow after the weapons are cleaned and returned."

"Well, okay. Tell them if they are there past 0200 they do not have to report until 1200 tomorrow. NCO X (not the one who complained) has a hardship reason to go home now, please make an exception."

All but one weapon was cleaned to inspection readiness by 0215, and everyone got to sleep in. I was home by 0300. I was not relieved. A few months after that we had a brigade-level arms room inspection. Of the 15 M-16s, 2 M-60s and 1 pistol inspected, only that one uncleaned weapon failed from my company. Other units had 70+ percent failure. Soon after, there was another range. None of our weapons misfired, but other units had the same problem. My soldiers returned, "you proved your point, Wilson. Give us the kits." At the range after, soldiers spent the time waiting for everyone else to clean their weapons, so the return was almost as quick as everyone else. Less time wasted in alibies in the range.

The point is not that I'm a jerk (though I don't run from that moniker). Regulatory compliance (while sometimes burdensome) is generally meant to safeguard something. Sarbanes-Oxley protects shareholders from being defrauded. US Government acquisition law protects the government from fraud. We all comply with traffic laws that has us travelling the same side of the road and obeying traffic control signs and lights.

Going from non-compliance to compliance is hard. But, once the adjustment is made, efficiencies are found and value gained.

-- 
Ben 
In tenebra solus sto

About Ben Wilson

Ben Wilson, the brains behind the Postal Marines sci-fi saga, is a history buff with a soft spot for human nature and religion. After serving in the US Army, he's now stuck in the exciting world of IT project management, where he feeds off his customers' frustrations. Ben shares his Northern Virginia home with his wife, three kids, and two vicious attack cats. Don't worry, he didn't sell his oldest to the Core (although he may have considered it). His eldest has flown the nest and started a family of his own.