Ben Wilson

November 5, 2022

Ruminations, Business Value and Goals

I've held back on this blog, and thinking perhaps it is better shared somewhere else. But, These thoughts do not occur to me in the hustle and bustle of work. They do, rather, but not at a time where I can jot my thoughts down. Of course, when I'm home, I should be focused on writing and publishing novels. (More on this below) In fact, I'm flaking out on a 1,000 word goal right now.

What the Hell is Business Value? This post is a bit different. I've become sick and tired of project management. It has a focus on doing things right, but no concept of whether what we are doing right is the right thing to do. Product Management is supposed to do that. It is the Yin to the Yang of project management.

One thing that annoys me most of Agile and project management is "what is value in an organization that does not measure value in profit and loss?" If you are a non-profit or a government organization, you are similarly afflicted. My affliction comes from having once been board president of a non-profit.

Completely lost on me in my affliction is that Mark Schwartz published the book The Art of Business Value, in 2016. I read his other book A Seat at the Table, in 2018...the sequel to TABV. I am only on chapter one. I'll follow this post up with another that dives into both TABV and ASATT.

Novel Writing. I published four in fiscal year 2022, and committed to delivering four more in Fiscal 2023. My FY2022 plan involved two published books and two once-drafted books that were all revised or rewritten. My FY2023 plan includes significant world building with a plotted first novel and a 30% draft. Thus, this year is more challenging than last (I have to plot three novels and complete 3.7 of them compared to revise two and rewrite two). I think of it as Leveling up.

Levels, or how I want to publish 18 novels over four years
  1. Finish two novel drafts, revise two and publish (Target 2022, complete)
  2. Finish 3.7 novels and publish four (Target 2023)
  3. Create new milieu, publish four (Target 2024)
  4. Create new milieu, publish six (Target 2025)

Why fiscal years? Because my birthday is in October.

-- 
Ben 
In tenebra solus sto

About Ben Wilson

Ben Wilson, the brains behind the Postal Marines sci-fi saga, is a history buff with a soft spot for human nature and religion. After serving in the US Army, he's now stuck in the exciting world of IT project management, where he feeds off his customers' frustrations. Ben shares his Northern Virginia home with his wife, three kids, and two vicious attack cats. Don't worry, he didn't sell his oldest to the Core (although he may have considered it). His eldest has flown the nest and started a family of his own.