Ben Wilson

November 8, 2021

Sobering Reality, or You Snooze, You Lose

I've been a want to be writer since I was a child. Over the past 15 years, I've written four novels, published two of them by myself, and contemplated writing many more. However I am also a tools nomad. That means that I'm rarely satisfied with the tool that I have in my hand, and I'm always looking for an alternative. As a result of this, I have used three or four different writing technologies. This includes word, scrivener, and my own custom written software. Word sucks when it comes to writing anything more than a 20 or 30 page paper.

One thing I've always wanted to do, is create a commercially available successful application for writers that can do all of the things that modern writers want to do. This was even a key component of my Masters program capstone that won in 2020. However, as I've gotten older I realize that I don't have the lifespan to give a product like that the care it deserves. The desire to write something like that was always conflicted with my need for a paycheck.

However, last month a young man with a young company released a software that writers can use just like I hoped for. It's still in I'll call it open beta, but it shows a lot of potential. As I look over what he's published to date, I am amazed at how closely he's aligning to my desired product roadmap. This just goes to show, if you wait long enough the competition will beat you. However, since I really never had the motivation to build it, he's not really motivation.

The fun fact is I may have a chance to meet him in the next six hours.

Now I can shift my focus to the other things I care about related to writing. An authors platform that I can be proud of that I've been self developing often on over the past six months. And a novel series that I started working on in August 2019. I'm already 25% of the way through the first draft of the first novel of at what should be an eight book series. Now let's see if I can get through them all.
-- 
Ben 
In tenebris solus sto

About Ben Wilson

Ben Wilson, the brains behind the Postal Marines sci-fi saga, is a history buff with a soft spot for human nature and religion. After serving in the US Army, he's now stuck in the exciting world of IT project management, where he feeds off his customers' frustrations. Ben shares his Northern Virginia home with his wife, three kids, and two vicious attack cats. Don't worry, he didn't sell his oldest to the Core (although he may have considered it). His eldest has flown the nest and started a family of his own.