Michael Weiner

April 12, 2021

Genuine appreciation is invaluable (to me)

Compensating individuals (monetarily or otherwise) for what they contribute is important. For me personally, there is a form of payment that is more valuable than anything else: genuine appreciation. Don't get me wrong being compensated monetarily is nice, but in the long-term money can only do so much for my internal well-being.

I find that an important aspect of who I am is needing to feel a sense of purpose and value. Does this mean that I expect my family or friends to pay me when I give them advice or lend a helping hand? Hell no. Does this mean I need someone to tell me they appreciate me or value my thoughts or work three times a day? Not even close. If anything, this would be insulting to me. 

As an employee this "genuine appreciation" might come in the form of a semi-annual review, a text/email/in-person discussion with a co-worker or boss after a particularly difficult week or set of weeks. As a friend it might come in a nice chat to catch up after several months. As a family member it might come even less frequently. Quality over quantity. I know it's cliché, but I mean it. 

It honestly comes down to knowing the people around you and being self-aware enough to take the effort to remind people that you appreciate them and value them. It is also a good reminder that we really don't truly know what other people might have going on in their life. Each of us plays a unique and equally important role in this world, and we should remind each other of that more often. 

About Michael Weiner

Hey, visitor! I'm Michael, a software engineer based in Minnesota, USA. I am an IBMer working on IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service. Feel free to poke around some of my work at michaelweiner.org. Below are some of my personal thoughts on business and my experiences in the computer science industry. Thanks for reading!