Michael Weiner

March 18, 2021

Say no.

Saying "No." is hard for me. I like to help people when they ask for it, irrespective to what I might have on my own plate. 
 
I tend to say "Yes." and "Yes." and "Yes." and "Yes." Then I regret saying "Yes." more than I would have regretted saying "No."
 
Saying “Yes.” has gotten me into sticky situations. Situations that I could have avoided entirely by just saying “No.” 
 
So, I started challenging myself to say “No.” to something at least once a week. It could be anything. Completing some extra potion of an assignment for school. Taking on an extra task for work. Agreeing to go out for a meal when I didn’t feel up for it. Anything. 
 
I found that I felt better. The academic and professional work I finished was of a higher quality. The people around me didn’t get upset when I said “No.” I had set a heathy boundary. Keep in mind, I didn’t say “No.” to everything. I said “No.” to one thing.
 
I realized that if I was not at my best, I could not best help those that needed it. 
 
So, I would challenge you to start saying “No.” to one thing a week – even if you don’t hesitate to say ”No.” already. Times are stressful. We all have a lot on our plate. That does not mean we need to kill ourselves to get everything done today. There will be time tomorrow, or next week, or next month. 

Today – focus on saying "No."

About Michael Weiner

Hey, visitor! I'm Michael, a software engineer based in Minnesota, USA. I am an IBMer working on IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service. Feel free to poke around some of my work at michaelweiner.org. Below are some of my personal thoughts on business and my experiences in the computer science industry. Thanks for reading!