Mike Gyi

March 17, 2021

My shining light

Hey again,

To start, I want to share my inspiration with you before I spout my random thoughts about life.

Julie Gyi—what a special woman.

My mum died in 2017 after a 2-year battle with Sarcoma, a rare type of cancer. She was a talented writer and spent a large part of her career as an English teacher. From what I could gather, and by the number of happy people we met in the street, she was a transformative person in the classroom.

I was lucky enough to have her as my everything-in-life coach and she even persuaded me to start a book at a young age called Jungle Fever. More on this another time, maybe!

She dreamt of writing a book and the closest she got was Simply Sarcoma, a blog about her experience with this rare type of cancer, to raise awareness of the deadly disease.

Time ran out as she typed, yet the creativity poured out of her. It's some of the best writing I've read. My friends Tash and Alice at the time even lauded it as a page-turner, they couldn't stop. 

So please, if you do one thing today, visit her blog, read her introduction, and share it with at least 2 other people to raise awareness of Sarcoma. 

I didn't get a chance to give my shining light a Mother's Day present or a hug last Sunday, but resurfacing her blog is the next best thing 🌻

Love you Mum!

-Mike

About Mike Gyi

UX/Product, ex-architecture, ex-TW, community addict, building https://www.townspot.uk