Luis Guillermo Natera Orozco

March 9, 2021

Hello World!

def hello(name):
    return f'hello {name}!'

hello('world')

My personal relation with blogging started around 2007. It was my go-to for publishing random thoughts, talking about what I was doing, and so on. It was a place to post something similar to a longer tweet in the days when Twitter wasn't around yet. During that time, I also got interested in talking about cities, and with a group of friends, we started blogging about them. Fast-forward a couple of years and we had a nice community blog in which we talked about Guadalajara in particular and cities in general. After some time of running the blog and working together with NGOs in the urban mobility sector, we closed the blog. It was a nice run.

I have tried to keep blogging, my personal webpage has a blog in it, however, I mostly use it to promote my academic work, and even if the publishing process is a little bit smooth (wrote on markdown and published in Jekyll, hosted on GitHub pages), still is not as easy as writing an email and automatically publishing, the premise behind Hey World.

The idea with this space is to use it as a blog/mailing list, in which to talk to the world, write about some topics I'm interested in, and are not as 'serious' as my academic work. I have a couple of ideas about what to write about, such as tipping my toes in web development with Django, a little bit about data science from academia to industry, biking and walking in the city not -only- from my research perspective, but also of the motivations behind.

If you feel curious about where this random walk writing will lead, you might want to subscribe or just keep an eye 👀 on this space or my Twitter.