Luis Guillermo Natera Orozco

March 11, 2021

One year working from home 🏡

It's been one year since I started working from home permanently. Thank you COVID-19 🦠 

Here is a recollection of this 'unusual' year:

  • We canceled travel plans to go to Mexico... three times 🤦‍♂️  Last time we went was in summer 2019. Let's hope we can travel this year. We are missing family, friends, and food (especially proper tacos 🌮).
  • Walking and biking around the city has become one of our favorite activities. First, as a way to step outside the house, then during summer to enjoy the good weather, and lately to treat us with a cappuccino and discover new coffee shops ☕️
  • 💼 Work-wise I've been very fortunate. Not only COVID didn't disrupt too much my research, but also I have been involved in a couple of new projects related to urban accessibility 🚶‍♂️
  • During the summer I applied for a post-doctoral position 🎓. Unfortunately, I didn't get it. That's fine. It was a learning experience, and the feedback that I got was very useful to keep growing.
  • Last summer we got new bikes 🚲 and with them new travel experiences around Hungary 🇭🇺. We biked along the Danube multiple times, around the city, and by the end of the summer we did a 5 days bicycle trip around Lake Balaton. Now, the weather is improving and the bikes are coming out again 😁
  • Of course, this year we also got into the plants' trend 🪴. We started with 3 plants, now we have ~19 (some of them are struggling with the winter 🥶)
  • I have no idea how many hours I have spent in zoom calls 🧑‍💻

We haven't had the virus, both of us have a job (mine is running out. But it's a good thing, It means I'm getting closer to the Ph.D.). So far, it has not been that bad. We have been very lucky.