Omar Wani

March 11, 2021

Galouti kebab and the fork

I've developed a theory: if you can reach a galouti kebab to your mouth with a fork, without breaking it, then it's not the real one.

IMG_20210310_211920.jpg


Last evening my tooth was giving me a little trouble and I thanked an old chef for creating these kebabs for the King who had tooth troubles (rather, is referred to as a 'toothless king').

And of course, if you are a kebabi, you know to use your fingers and not any other implement to eat them!

You have all the recipes and stories about the Origin of this wonderful kebab available over the internet so I won't go there.

If you are in Pune, it's a great idea to get a meal at Mystic Masala at the Blue Diamond IHCL Hotel. I thoroughly relished each kebab, didn't have to bite... awesome combination of spices just flavour your mouth.

I noticed several local residents eating Indian, and specifically, Maharashtrian dishes at this place... so clearly, this one is an authentic!

If you are the drinking kind... I'd suggest don't mix drinks and galoutis! Sip water, clear your mouth and go for the kebab. You can always ruin the taste later... or skip the drink.

Heartwarming & belly-warming snack: cooked to perfection.

(PS, no- the Taj isn't paying me to write this)