Omar Wani

March 10, 2021

Getting the flavours right at home

I am in Pune after many years. Unable to go out I have the vada paw served right here in the room. With one caveat: the green chilies of Maharashtra are not to be taken lightly!

IMG_20210310_163353.jpg


Executive Chef Sachin's garage throws out incredible flavours! First, the vada paw took me back to some memories of college days - spent in Mumbai and Pune. Then the beautiful dal makhani that I ate for dinner last evening with some krispy naans.

A forced travel that resulted in me staying at the Blue Diamond in Pune didn't turn out so bad! The IHCL & local property protocols have it covered. It's safe, welcoming and very family like. I chat with Tenzin about art and I discuss a few recipes from the north.

All in all, it's turning out to be a beautiful week. I've managed to take the journey into the past that brought back some beautiful memories... while staying off the streets.

Have always found the Maharashtrian flavours colourful, distinct and punchy - not citrus, I mean chilly :)

I am heading to Mystic Masala tonight - Sachin highly recommended I try a few things there. Looking at tasting the curry from Sattara in Maharashtra (home made flavours).... will I corrupt it with a kebabs on the side Lucknowi style.. I don't know yet, let's see how it pans out :)

Have a flavourful Wednesday, World!

Love.