Om Malik

March 19, 2021

A chat with Nitin Sawhney. Who is he anyway?

Today is a bit self-serving as I am sharing something I published this morning: a new conversation with Nitin Sawhney, a British musician whose music has been the soundtrack of my life. The interview comes on the eve of the release of his new album, Immigrants, which celebrates the role immigrants play in any society. The album is the classic heady potion that Sawhney often brews --- mixing, chopping, and recrafting everything from dub, jazz, flamenco to classic Indian musical elements. 

Nitin has been on my shortlist of "gets" for the Pico conversation series, and as you read this nearly 5000-word opus, you will see why. We talk about his influences, growing up in Kent, his approach to creativity, and how he has survived the pandemic. The conversation is full of so many nuggets of wisdom. I hope you enjoy reading this interview as much as I did when I interviewed Nitin.