Om Malik

April 6, 2021

Are you procrastinating more these day?

Lately, I have started to notice that I procrastinate more? I save things to my Pocket to read them later, but I don't. And that's not the only time I find myself procrastinating. Apparently, I should (and can) blame it on the pandemic, according to National Geographic. It is not about being, but it is more of a coping mechanism. The lockdown has caused some ambient stress issues, and our bodies (and brains) are finding new ways to deal with it. “Procrastination is an emotion-focused coping strategy,” says Tim Pychyl, a psychology professor at Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario, and author of Solving the Procrastination Puzzle. “It is not a time-management problem; it is an emotion-management problem.”

Fascinating article, to read, or at least save it to your favorite read it later service