Otar Chekurishvili

March 7, 2021

Remembering What You Read

Last year, I found myself reading a book for the third time because I couldn't remember its contents. That's when I decided to find a solution to my problem. After trying out many different methods, I discovered a simple hack that worked best for me. It helped me remember most parts of the books I read, and I only had to look into them occasionally (to find specific details).

Curious about the hack? Here it is: Make Notes As You Read.

If you have a digital book, don't worry. There are many applications that allow you to highlight and make notes.

Most of my books look like the picture below. As you can see, I am comfortable with writing notes directly in the book, as long as it's not an antique from the 17th century.

0*9L62l12ONUafBV_B.jpeg


Another method that has worked well for me over the years is to write down small notes somewhere else. This allows me to put down my thoughts on paper and makes it harder to forget. It's especially helpful if I review my notes from time to time. Derek Sivers has been taking such book notes for years, and you can learn more about his approach here: https://sive.rs/book.

Otar

About Otar Chekurishvili

Internet Citizen. Software & Wine Craftsman. Digital Entrepreneur. https://otar.me