Paul O'Brien

March 10, 2021

Could Hey World replace my Wordpress blog?

I've had my Wordpress blog since June 2020, it's fairly easy to manage and the costs are minimal. The problem is, it doesn't matter what template I install I am never happy with the overall look and feel. Even though I have tried to go for the minimalistic approach, the site still feels cluttered and slow.

Over the past couple of months I have been looking at other platforms, Medium.com, Ghost.org and even the horrid blogger.com ,to name just a few. None of them matched what I was looking for, until I read the Tweet announcing HEY World and send my first email to the world.

Over the past few nights I have published more on HEY World than to main blog, it is so simple to write something up and publish instantly. The clean look of the posts is exactly what I have been looking for.

The question is - Could HEY be a replacement to my Wordpress blog?

The answer is, nearly. If I could add my Twitter icon and maybe a small amount of bio at the top of the page, I'd then be 100% sold. But on the other hand I understand the purpose of HEY World and in some ways don't want to change it, because it just works right out of the box.

Apologies if I sound a little uncertain, that's because I am. I have lost my love for Wordpress and other big bulky solutions for publishing, So the question still remains, could I cope with just the basics of HEY World?