Pierre-Olivier Carles

March 12, 2021

How to deal with a lack of motivation

I have been invited to a Clubhouse room to talk about Motivation.

No, I won't tell you everything we said there, as Rooms always last too long.
Yet, I'd like to share with you a parable I've used to make my point.

Basically, I never had motivation problems.
I know where I want to go, and the rest are just bumps on the road.

Of course, it doesn't mean I wake up every morning like a Disney princess, talking with a living cup of coffee while cute little birds are cleaning the room.

happy-amused-bearded-european-man-has-fun-on-carni-F4S3RD7.jpg


Nope.
I'm no fu**ing princess.

I can even be very grumpy before my first espresso.
Definitely not Disney material 😁

When it happens, I already know I should avoid working too much that day.

If your life were a public company, your motivation would be its stock.

  • One day, you lose 2%, and it doesn't make you a failure.
  • The next day, you gain 2%, and it doesn't make you a hero either.

Eventually, over the course of years, your market cap will increase, averaging all these ups and downs positively.

In the end, the only thing that matters is your journey, the passion you have for it, and how happy it makes you most of the time, not 100% of the time.

Stay motivated, no matter what!


About Pierre-Olivier Carles

De mon parcours fait d’entreprises, d’investissements, de succès et d’erreurs, je tire des pensées personnelles que je partage ici, en français maintenant. Documenter ce voyage peut en inspirer d’autres, mais, à vrai dire, c’est d’abord à moi que cela apporte quelque chose.