Peter Skaronis

January 14, 2023

How to spend 24 hours a day!


Everyone gets the same!


Have you ever wondered what really happens to your supply of 24 hours each and every day?

We are creatures of habit and it is undeniable that If you don’t control your habits, your habits end up controling you.

From the moment you wake in the morning, you have 24 hours in your wallet from the unwoven fabric of time, as Arnold Bennett says in his book.

The question is, how some people have seemingly so much different lives when we all get the same time and have the mental capacity for greatness.

There are many faucets to this, such as money, focus, purpose, discipline, willpower, commitment to name a few.

However, it is never one or the other. It takes more than one trait to make excellent use of your 24 hours every day, you are blessed to receive.

Money Solves Everything

You might probably say, something like I used to believe as well, that some people as born into wealth and have more freedom to spend their 24 hours as they please.

However, we have seen so many people, that end up dead, by drug abuse or suicide because they simply don’t know what to do with their time and money.

Also, we’ve seen time and time again people winning the lottery and within a year or so, loosing everything.

I used to think that If I had more money, I would have less problems and would have a better plan and choices for my life. This is such total bullshit.

As Jim Rohn used to say,

If you had a better plan, you would have more money

I started listening a talk Jim Rohn gave a while ago on Financial Independence and it is so simple and yet so profound. You can find it here.

It is your philosophy about money that makes the difference;

So I believe it is safe to assume, that money is not the single factor in how you spend your 24 hours each day.

The Power of Habits

Anything you do, from the moment you open your eyes in the morning, from hitting the snooze button to making coffee and running out the door for work, says a lot about who you are and how you make decisions that ultimately become ingrained in your subconscious mind.

Anything from brushing your teeth, to tying your shoe laces, is automatic. You don’t have to think about it anymore. It is imprinted in your subconscious. Yet, these automatic habits make up over 90% of our daily activities and we rarely take the time to reflect on our day and review what we did and how we used up our 24 hours.

Some things don’t make any sense, by we still go through with them, because we are used to. It has become a habit. When you think about, it doesn’t sound very intelligent but we all do it.

One of the reasons it becomes so difficult, is that as we grow older, these neurological pathways in the brain are so strong from repetition that it is hard to change, but not impossible.

Breaking Bad (habits)

You could start from today by changing how you do some things and see for yourself, how it feels. It will certainly feel a little bit weird at first but it will be worth it.

If you drive to work, you could try taking another route and see what happens.

Everyone can change their habits and free up more time each day, but this will happen only by reflection and evaluation of what you do each day and how it serves you.

For many years, I used to be a night owl, because I kept telling myself, that I can focus better at night, as everyone was asleep and it was peaceful. After 20 years though, I figured out that it is also very peaceful at 5:00 am and my brain power is at 100% by going to bed at 22:00pm.

That has been a tiny change in my daily routine but has made such a huge impact in my life. Thanks to the Miracle Morning and timing.

The Miracle Morning

One sunday I happened to be listening to a podcast from John Dumas called Entreupreuner on fire and he was interviewing a guy who died for 6 minutes when he was 20 years old and came back to life. This was the episode.

After 30 minutes, I was blown away from all that Hal talked about and wanted to learn more. He talked about the simple concept of getting up an hour before your actual start time of the day to work on yourself.

The same day I was on his website The Miracle Morning and within the next few hours I was reading his book. Next morning I was up at 5:00 am. This was awkward as I didn’t know what I was going to do, but was excited to try it.

All the things, I’ve learnt over the years, such as meditating, reading, exercising, visualising have been great but I have never found a way to consistently follow though.

I never had enough time. 24 hours were never enough for anything.

Hal has come up with a routine that includes 6 steps, that encompass all that you need to grow yourself steadily every day.

He calls them S.A.V.E.R.S.
  • Silence
  • Affirmation
  • Visualization
  • Exercise
  • Reading
  • Scribing

I started by doing 10 minutes of meditation, by using Calm and after that I was ready to do just about anything.

By the time It was 6:00am, I had read book, written in my diary, exercised, written my affirmations and It was still 6:00 am. Whereas, before I would try to do something similar at night but things would drag longer and I never had enough time.

Conclusion

As Jim Rohn used to say in his speech,

The money is always there;

I’ve come to understand that

The time is always there, it is your perception and your philosophy of time that makes the difference;

About Peter Skaronis

 Hey! I'm Peter, Cybersecurity Consultant, Polymath and the CEO at Techimpossible.
I 'm currently working on developing the Cybersecurity Notes and Cybersecurity Templates.

Subscribe below to follow my thinking, on cybersecurity, learning, and Technology. Thanks for visiting, thanks for reading.

XLinkedInSubstackUnsplashTeslaBlossom