Raul Popadineți

March 4, 2021

New Beginnings

Starting something new is never easy. It feels like every time it happens, frustration, impatience, or disappointment crawl into our minds, and we question if it’s worth moving forward. If I had a dollar for every time I abandoned writing, draw in pencil, create a wood sculpture, or start my own business just because impostor syndrome hit, I would probably have a small fortune.

Throughout the years, patience helped me develop resilience. Resilience for my craft and my business. I know now that the hardest part is to start. Once you do, it gets easier the more consistent you become. Instead of learning and preparing your entire life, you can start and learn along the way. The experience gathered from the world doesn’t compare to the tests ran in your lab. Plus, the former is much more valuable.

So here’s to a new beginning—my personal blog. Just like Jason from Basecamp, I never had one. I considered it more and more lately, but felt like deciding between Medium, Substack, Ghost, or whatever other tool there is, overwhelmed me. I did not want a service that would send me weekly tips and tricks on how to engage with my audience, make my posts more compelling, or waste time looking at stats and thinking of topics that would increase the numbers of likes/claps I get.

Since I was already a HEY customer from the initial launch, HEY World made the click. It makes it dumb simple to write down my thoughts in an easy and familiar interface without any additional setup or onboarding. I won’t see any stats, likes, or anything else. It’s the perfect place to jot down my thoughts just for the pleasure of writing.

New beginnings are also exciting! They are filled with joy in discovering new paths in our life. This is probably what makes the endeavor worth pursuing. 

This is my new start. The hardest part is over. Hey, world! 👋

About Raul Popadineți

Creator, investor, and part-time programmer at Gumroad.
Building inconsistently Econub—a recycling map for my hometown. 
Worked for 10+ years remotely and writing about my journey.