Michael St. Pierre

May 14, 2021

A Long Run

My typical daily walk is about a mile and a half. I run half of it, getting my heart rate up. I’m out and back in less than a half hour.

Occasionally though, I feel the nudge to do more. One more loop around the community center near my house adds another 12 minutes to the workout. I rarely want to do this but when the muse strikes, you’ve got to go for it.

Prayer can be similar.

When we pray, we get into ruts and routines. It’s good to mix things up when you can. This piece on adding a holy hour into your weekly schedule is like a long run. A holy hour before the Blessed Sacrament will stretch you- it’s not easy, at least not at first.

Yet, like the extra loop in my daily run, a holy hour just might be the long run you need to draw closer to the Lord.