Michael St. Pierre

June 28, 2023

An Easy Way to Honor God’s Promptings (Through Apple Notes)

How do you capture important conversations?

In the busy world in which we live, it’s easy to have a fantastic conversation and then let it pass into the ether, forgotten in minutes. But what if there was a better way, a more intentional way of remembering the contents of that conversation?

It’s no secret that I’m a proponent of spiritual direction. After all, I’ve benefited from it since I was in college. While not all of my directors have been stellar, the vast majority have been good, holy men who spoke into my life. 

A system that’s worked for me for the past few years is quite simple and goes like this:
  • I keep a folder inside Apple Notes called “Spiritual Direction”.
  • To prepare for upcoming sessions, I have a note labeled “Next Session”; inside that note, I can add items that I’ll want to talk about when I meet with my director; as the month goes on, more items are added (a thought here, a concept there, a question, a musing, etc.).
  • After a session is complete, I make a note with the date; inside that note I add summary points from our conversation.

None of this takes much time or effort. It’s just enough of a structure that allows me to ramp up for a session and then honor the conversation afterwards through the summary note.

This process also allows me, in a small but meaningful way, to honor what God is doing in my life. It’s good to occasionally look back and see something that God did a few months ago or a new spiritual insight, etc.

How about you? How do you memorialize and honor the work God is doing in your life?

-Mike




Michael St. Pierre, Ed.D.
www.mikestpierre.com