Michael St. Pierre

April 8, 2021

Avoiding Busyness in The Quiet Life

Readers of my blog know that I am a big fan of Georgetown University’s Cal Newport. I gave each member of my team a copy of Deep Work and even a copy of his Time Block Planner. Whether Newport is a Christian or not, I do not know.

What I am fairly certain of his is insight into avoiding busyness, a concept in sync with The Quiet Life. A recent podcast (Deep Questions, link here - at the 44:00 mark) of his gave insight into how he avoids busyness. 

He said that he does not aspire to have a big team and does not want to have a full schedule. Rather, he wants to conduct his affairs simply and introvertedly. This is from a New York Times best-selling author and renowned thought leader.

According to Newport, “I get overwhelmed easily. I don’t like to be busy.”