Michael St. Pierre

April 24, 2022

Does this describe your prayer life?

A member of my board (at work) likes to text me a photo each weekend of a book he's reading. It's fun because it keeps me honest as a reader and thinker. It makes me want to keep reading and keep growing as a Christian and as a leader.

I shared with him that I've been re-reading Everyday Simplicity: a Practical Guide to Spiritual Growth by Robert J. Wicks. I think I've read this four times as of 2022.

It's that good.

His chapter on silence is worth pondering and this one line caught me in my tracks: "If prayer is seen as just another thing to do, another duty, another time to please someone else, it is important to reframe it. Silence and solitude is a time and place to relax and rest in God's arms."

Does that describe your quiet time with the Lord? If not, might today be a good time to reframe it?