Michael St. Pierre

March 28, 2024

Each of us Needs the Cross

The world enters into the Holy Triduum today. For the next three (or so) days, we will reflect on the Lord’s Passion, death and resurrection.

For Catholics, Orthodox Christians and others who take liturgy seriously, these next few days are rich with symbols, traditions and ancient rites.

As you know, I love books and especially, spiritual classics. As wonderful as many of today’s spiritual writers are, there’s nothing like a classic text to stir the soul. Recently, this has been Thomas Merton’s New Seeds of Contemplation.

A delight- I read this when I was in college. To pick it up, 25 years later and see the things I marked up then is incredible.

Related to the Triduum and specifically Christ’s death on the cross, Merton has a lot to say. In a chapter on pride, he details the dangers that many of us experience as we become more and more “religious”. We can be tempted to separate ourselves from others.

I’m a little better
I’m a little different
I’m a little special
I’m called
I’m chosen

Now don’t get me wrong. We are called, chosen, special, different and better but only because of God’s grace within us. Each of us would be a hot mess were it not for God. I know that applies to me in dramatic ways. The man I was before I knew God was headed down a very dangerous path.

For those who are professed religious (sisters, brothers, fathers) or ordained priests, deacons and bishops, this temptation is even greater. As someone who works inside the Church, I can attest: no one is immune from pride. Your title doesn’t matter a lick when it comes to issues of humility/pride. I’m rarely surprised when I hear of a scandal because one simply cannot run from the truth of needing God’s grace. That will never be untrue, no matter our level of spiritual maturity.

Rather than separate oneself from others, a gradual distancing of sorts, Merton’s counsel is this, “I will never be able to find myself if I isolate myself from the rest of mankind as if I were a different kind of being.”

Each of us needs the cross desperately. Each of us needs forgiveness and reconciliation. Each of us needs Jesus in ways more profound than we can ever imagine.

Here’s to a Holy Triduum for each of us as we embrace our core need for Christ. 



Michael St. Pierre, Ed.D.
www.mikestpierre.com