Michael St. Pierre

August 24, 2021

Facebook, Vaccines & The Quiet Life

I noticed something unusual over the past year. Each time I would post something about the covid vaccines on Facebook, no likes, shares, comments or the like would show up. The first time, I thought it was unusual.

After the third time, I started to think there might be something to it.

In full disclosure, I’ve never posted anything incorrect or mean-spirited about the vaccines related to Covid. I’m vaccinated and am a proponent of vaccination but I also respect those who, with a well formed conscience, object out of religious reasons.

Back to Facebook. I recently posted this article which I found to be inspiring. It featured a podcaster (from CatholicCulture.org) who published an apology and retraction from a prior show. He felt that he needed to set a more humble tone related to vaccines and that his prior show was misleading to listeners. Rarely do you see an apology which seems genuine. I believe that his was.

I received no likes, comments or shares on that particular post. I tweaked the audience from friends to public. Radio silence.

Shortly thereafter, an Instagram ad campaign I was running for Nonprofit Productive was suspended with no apparent reason provided. Facebook, which owns Instagram, has not given a reason for the suspension.

All of this could be something or could be nothing. Related to The Quiet Life, it’s actually a good thing. Better for me to spend more time in contemplative reading, realtime conversation and prayer than to wonder if Facebook will publish an item related to a vaccine.