Michael St. Pierre

July 3, 2023

First Time, Long Time

When I lived in New Jersey, I enjoyed sports talk radio, WFAN on a daily basis. While I’m a Boston fan, the New York/New Jersey radio station offered up more than enough raw meet for even the casual fan.

A typical line when folks would call in would be, “Hey it’s Phil from the Bronx, first time long time…” and then launch into his question or opinion.

Yesterday, I had the house to myself for about two hours. Just me and the dog. It was the first time I’d been alone in my own home for what felt like years. The quiet was glorious and I made great progress in Stolen Focus, my current read.

These prolonged periods of time alone are needed in order to truly live The Quiet Life. They allow for prayer, musing, day dreaming and talking to yourself out loud.

When was the last time you had some extended time alone?

-Mike


Michael St. Pierre, Ed.D.
www.mikestpierre.com