Michael St. Pierre

November 12, 2022

It’s Ok to Say No

Do you find that your week starts with the best of intentions and then fades into a “limp to the finish line” by Friday?

Lately, that’s been my experience and it’s really bothering me. After all, I’m supposed to be The Productivity Guy. You’d think I would have this all figured out.

Hardly. I’m a work in progress and old habits are hard to break.

Such as… the habit of saying yes to new things. Not necessarily yes to big projects. Rather, I have a habit of saying yes to small things because I feel badly passing them off to others. I’ve found that other faith-based leaders have the same issue. 

The result: my Thursday and Friday todo lists are overflowing. That doesn’t feel good at all.

What if there were another way?


This article caught my eye. I think it relates to The Quiet Life which favors a schedule that is more open, less crammed and less frenetic.

Our scheduling impacts our spiritual life. A Quiet Life calendar allows more space for silence and solitude. It gives God more “space” in which to work. A crammed life calendar just keeps running from one thing to the next. The result: exhaustion and fatigue.

It’s ok to say no to more things on your calendar. Try it for a week and see what kind of a difference it makes.