Michael St. Pierre

April 29, 2023

Just how broken are you?

My name is Mike and I’ve got a problem: me.”

While I’ve never been to an AA meeting, one of the great principles of any recovery program is the acknowledgement of a problem and that starts with me. A healthy look in the mirror is good for all of us.

One of my favorite political and social commentators is Jason Whitlock. He’ll tell you off when you’re wrong but he is quick to point out his own failings and sin. That feels like a good balance in a world that can’t-stop-talking.

It’s the folks who never admit to wrong that I suggest running from. Not only are they not being honest but they are likely hiding something. When it comes out, and it will, it won’t be pretty and the house of cards will come down. Far too many church, political and social leaders have been “found out” when their previous platform seemed sure, certain and filled with answers.

This piece from Word on Fire adds something to the conversation about brokenness. It’s a reminder that we are all flawed and need to be in touch with that frailty. 

Just how broken are you? Are you comfortable, in a humble sort of way, owning your brokenness?

-Mike


Michael St. Pierre, Ed.D.
www.mikestpierre.com