Michael St. Pierre

February 13, 2023

My Little Cell: A Week with Covid

A week ago Sunday, I told Cary that I felt I was coming down with something. The next morning, I tested positive for Covid.

A buddy of mine texted me with, “Wait, people still get that?”

While at times it felt like a “lost week” of my life, it was also a tremendous gift. While I did lose five days of work, missed my first board meeting in 14 years and canceled all but one meeting, it was not all for loss.

I read two books The Smart Nonprofit which was injuriously dry and Tenderness by Eve Tushnet which was sobering and complex. I took untimed naps. I watched all of Blackbird. I avoided snacking (hoping to see a few pounds tick off when I next weigh in). I recorded screen videos of plays for my 6th grade basketball team and sent them to their parents.

There were the unanswered prayers (Lord, you could take away this splitting headache right now so how ‘bout it?) and the loneliness. Even for me, a raging introvert, the isolation was a bit much. Those many, many human interactions each day are so precious.

In my little cell of a room, there was also prayer. The day began with my Bible and the day’s Mass readings and ended in a similar way. Kneeling by the bed, I found a simplicity that had not been present for some time. It was quiet.

All wasn’t perfect and as a result, I had to lean on the One who is.

As I now, gradually, emerge from my “covid week”, I’m a more grateful person. You’ll still see me in a mask for a few days but I’ll cherish those times in my little cell. 

-Mike