Michael St. Pierre

September 23, 2022

New Techniques for Morning Scripture Reading

I used to go to the gym with my friend, Al. He taught me a key lesson about staying engaged with your workouts and I think it applies to morning prayer routines as well.

He said, “It’s important to change up your routine every couple of months or else you’ll get bored and it won’t feel like fun.”

Lately, I’ve been using the Hallow app for my morning Bible reading. Abby, a 30-something British woman is the voice I’m accustomed to and the timing is just right- 10 minutes. There’s something about hearing a Bible passage two times, slowly, first thing in the morning.

Admittedly, I miss holding my leather Bible and turning the pages. I’ve included that in my weekend prayer routine so I feel like I’m getting the best of two worlds- Hallow for my ears and heart during the week and my leather Bible on the weekends.

From there, I’ll go through a few Catholic blogs and end up with my journaling in the DayOne app. About a month in and this new routine feels very good.

When was the last time you changed up your morning prayer routine?

-Mike